Project 3 (Trade Fiction Paperback Book)

For this next project, I will recreate a new book over for an iconic story called The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. This prompt is from my professor that is related to the topic.

Prompt: Is there anything new you learned about books that you never notice before?

When I was looking at some fiction books to get inspired for the book cover. I realized that quality is different for each book, which is size, different kinds of paper, how they were carefully cut, or using paperback or hardcover. However, when you look at these books more closely, some books use typography to specially express the story of the book in a clear way with a simple image. It could be the opposite too which fiction books have beautifully detailed illustrations of the main subjects. Patterns are involved too but I don’t see patterns being used as much because they can be overpowering the audience’s eyes. Also, space, some books are covered with illustrations and some covers are simple which has a lot of empty space for more text to be added in. When you design a book cover, you have to freedom to be creative with these book covers either simple or complex as long you are making the story clear and understandable for the audience.

Brainstormed ideas with a mindmap, sketches, and final sketch with smaller details to include on the book cover. I want to go for a vintage/old look
This is my first draft of the book cover. I wasn’t too happy with the results so far because it looks a little too flat to me because the characters are disappearing into the background and just overall lack of contrast. I will keep working on that to make it more notable and move things around.
The final product (along with prototype spreadsheets). I kept working on the cover and finally figured out a way to make my elements stand out more. I am very pleased with the results (I kinda don’t know why it looks a little bright but that’s fine with me). It took some time and patience but it was very much worth it.

Leave a comment